Git: Fast Forward Merge

The ‘fast forward merge’.  This only applies if there are no commits in the destination branch which aren’t already in the source branch. Fast-forward merges create no merge commit and the result looks like a rebase, because the commits just move over to the destination branch – except no history re-writing is needed (we’ll talk about this re-writing in a second). You can turn fast-forward merges off in SourceTree so that a merge commit is always created if you want – check the ‘Create a commit’ option in the Merge dialog or set it globally in Preferences > Git.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *